Just a bloody cycle.

There’s nothing like the smell of long awaited rain hitting the parched earth with helpings to the grasses and trees. With each fine drop, each green sort of revitalizes.. Bounces.. In its new found energy from its quenched thirst. Nature is so amazing.With each cold, crystal-clear drop of rain, came a scalding one from within my eyes, streaming down my face in the most thespian manner, hitting my pillow with a thud, forming a beautiful rhythm with the tha-thump-thump of my heart. With each burning drop, I ….. Recoil.. In this new found hurt from my unquenched desire. 

The desire to be loved. Not just loved.. because, oh, I am loved by a lot. But this certain ignited desire wants what It can never secure. 

“Hmm… It’s just a bloody cycle.” XYZ said while he peered down in my eyes with his, forcing a smile, stirring up discomfort in me as he did. 

“Yes” is all I could muster back. 

I made the excuse of the skies getting dark, to leave. I couldn’t bear what I saw in his eyes after I told him I was in his exact shoes. Loving someone who will not reciprocate. 

The walk from his place to mine is usually five minutes tops. But this morning it was about twenty. Or more? My ears grew hot, my throat clogged with steam. My ducts anticipated a release. I had to hurry in before the downpour from both bodies. My brain, still echoing “…just a bloody cycle.”

My eyes challenged the clouds this morning. It was a great battle- with both relieving themselves of a buildup. You could guess who won. 

Leave a comment